Future of Sponsored Research

View All Task Forces


To make recommendations that will guide Princeton's response to changing patterns of support for sponsored research, with the overall goal of ensuring that Princeton continues to be one of the world's great research universities. In making its recommendations, the committee will take into account Princeton's distinctive characteristics, including the central importance of undergraduate education and Princeton's small size.



  • Pablo Debenedetti, Dean for Research; Class of 1950 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science; Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • David Lee, ProvostProfessor of Economics and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs

Faculty members

  • Bonnie Bassler, Squibb Professor in Molecular Biology; Chair, Department of Molecular Biology
  • Christodoulos Floudas, Stephen C. Macaleer '63 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science; Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Claire Gmachl, Eugene Higgins Professor of Electrical Engineering; Vice Dean, School of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Hantao Ji, Professor of Astrophysical Sciences
  • Sanjeev Kulkarni, Dean of the Graduate School; Professor of Electrical Engineering
  • C.K. (Ed) Law, Robert H. Goddard Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Meredith Martin, Associate Professor of English; Director, Digital Humanities Center
  • Eldar Shafir, William Stewart Tod Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs
  • Daniel Sigman, Dusenbury Professor of Geological and Geophysical Sciences; Professor of Geosciences
  • David Spergel, Charles A. Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation; Professor of Astrophysical Sciences; Chair, Department of Astrophysical Science

Sits with committee

  • Karla Ewalt, Associate Dean for Research, Office of the Dean for Research
  • Steven Gill, Budget Director and Associate Provost for Finance, Office of the Vice President for Finance and Treasurer
  • Jed Marsh, Vice Provost for Institutional Research, Office of the Provost


  • Annette Tate, Department Manager, Office of the Dean for Research